INTERNATIONAL APPLICATIONS

Welcome to Switzerland! On this page, you will find useful information on living and working in Switzerland. We are looking forward to receiving your application.


ENTRY

  • Cross-border commuters from EU and EFTA states may work and move freely within Switzerland’s national borders. Citizens from EU-27 (with the exception of Bulgaria, Romania and Croatia) and EFTA states are no longer subject to border zone regulations. They can live in any EU or EFTA country and work in Switzerland, on the condition that they return to their home abroad every week (usually on the weekend). The cross-border commuter permit is applied for through the employer.
  • Citizens from a EU-27 or EFTA state (with the exception of Bulgaria, Romania and Croatia) who wish to be gainfully employed in Switzerland are allowed to enter Switzerland. Within 14 days of arrival they must submit a residence permit application together with a contract of employment to their local Citizen Services Department.
  • Citizens from Bulgaria and Romania (EU-2 states) can enter Switzerland without a visa. There are a limited number of B residency permits available for Romanian and Bulgarian nationals. They are allocated on a quarterly basis. Short-term Category L residency permits are not guaranteed. (Status quo 2017)
  • Citizens from non-EU/EFTA countries require a visa to enter Switzerland (exceptions: citizens from Andorra, Brunei, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, San Marino, Singapore and Vatican City only require an assurance of a residence permit to enter) if they are moving to Switzerland to work. The labour-market authorities, the cantonal migration offices and the State Secretariat for Migration examine every application for an employment and residency permit. If the applicant is successful, the secretariat authorises the Swiss embassy or consulate general in the respective country to grant the visa. These external bodies issue the visa, which then has to be picked up by the successful applicant. Please note: You may only enter Switzerland after you have received the visa or the assurance of a residence permit.
  • Information about customs and entry requirements can be found here.

 

REGISTRATION

  • You must register at your local Citizen Services Department or municipal office within 14 days after entering Switzerland.
  • EU/EFTA citizens require the following documents to register: Passport or ID card and employment contract.
  • Non-EU/EFTA citizens require the following documents to register: Passport or ID card, employment contract, visa or assurance of a residence permit and a rental contract.
  • Please note: Registration incurs a fee.

 

PENSION PLAN

The Swiss pension plan is based on three pillars: The state pension, which is called old-age, survivors’ and disability insurance (AHV/IV), makes up the first pillar and represents the basic safety net. That means both these types of insurance are legally obliged to cover the basic costs of those insured in old age or in the case of disability. In the event of death, the insurance benefits are forwarded to the bereaved. Everyone who lives and/or works in Switzerland is compulsorily covered by AHV and IV.

The occupational pension plan is the second pillar and, alongside the benefits of AHV and IV, is designed to enable people to maintain their existing living conditions and lifestyle. All employees in Switzerland with an income of over CHF 14 100 are insured. Contributions are paid into each person’s individual account and the accounts are managed by autonomous pension funds or collective foundations.

The third pillar of the pension plan is private pension insurance, which is an optional supplement to the first and second pillars. People living in Switzerland can pay a certain amount into the third pillar each year. The third pillar is managed by banks and insurance companies.

  • The Hirslanden Private Hospital Group is insured through the private hospital compensation fund against the risks of the first pillar. The employee contributions to the AHV/IV are deducted directly from people’s wages and transferred together with the employer contributions to the private hospital compensation fund. The premium rate is 10.3% and this is split 50/50 between the employee and the employer.
  • Employees with an annual income of more than CHF 14 100 are insured against the risks of the second pillar through the Hirslanden pension fund. The occupational pension plan is financed by contributions from the insured person, i.e. the employee, as well as the employer. The contributions are deducted from their wages and transferred to the pension fund.

 

INSURANCE

  • Unemployment insurance (ALV) is a state insurance scheme that provides adequate compensation for loss of earnings over a certain period of time in the event of unemployment. All persons in Switzerland who are not self-employed are insured with the ALV until the normal retirement age. The insurance is financed equally by the employee and the employer and is financed directly through salary deductions.
  • Accident insurance is designed to compensate for the financial consequences of accidents (which may or may not be related to work) and work-related illnesses. Occupational accident insurance is mandatory in Switzerland for all employed people and must be organised through the employer, who also pays the premiums. All people who work a minimum of eight hours a week are also insured by their employers against non-work related accidents (accidents that happen outside working hours). The premiums can in part be passed on to the employee. Unemployed people must organise their own accident insurance through an insurance company.
  • Health insurance is mandatory and covers treatment and healthcare costs in the case of illness. Unemployed people can also access accident insurance through their health insurers. In Switzerland, people are free to choose their health insurance provider. That means the insured person can select the health insurance provider that best suits their needs.
  • The sick pay insurance provides financial compensation for the consequences of long-term illness at work. This type of insurance is not mandatory.
  • Maternity leave compensation serves to partially cover the loss of income incurred during maternity leave and is paid for a maximum of 98 days after the birth.

 

The individual Hirslanden insurance solutions can be summarised as follows:

  • Unemployment insurance: Employees of the Hirslanden Private Hospital Group are insured with the compensation fund for private hospitals. The premium is deducted from the salary.
  • Accident insurance: The Hirslanden Private Hospital Group has insured the accident risk for employees with Zurich Insurance. The premium is borne equally by the employee and the employer and is deducted directly from the salary.
  • Health insurance: Health insurance is the responsibility of the employee. However, there are collective agreements in which employees can benefit from special conditions.
  • Daily sickness benefit insurance: The Hirslanden Private Hospital Group has taken out daily sickness benefit insurance for its employees. The premium is paid half by the employee and half by the employer.
  • Maternity insurance: The Hirslanden Private Hospital Group grants all employees a total of 16 weeks' paid maternity leave. From the 2nd year of service onwards this is compensated at 100% of gross salary (up to the 2nd year of service the compensation is 80% of gross salary).

 

 

TAXES

Taxation in Switzerland is based on a three-tiered system. The federal government collects income tax. The same federal tax rates apply throughout all of Switzerland. The 26 cantons and approximately 2 400 municipalities also collect income tax, as well as property tax (net worth tax). The rate of taxation in the cantons and municipalities varies; that is to say, the amount of tax you pay also depends on where you live.

  • Swiss citizens are subject to a statutory assessment. This is based on an annual self-declaration. The taxable person must submit a tax return once a year. The tax office then sends them a tax invoice that must be paid by the end of the year.
  • For foreign nationals (without a C permit), the “deduction of tax at source” rule applies. Tax is deducted directly from their wage – at the source – each month. The employer then transfers this tax to the respective tax office in Switzerland.

 

ACCOMMODATION

Several Hirslanden clinics offer their employees discounted accommodation. If you are interested please contact your local human resources department.
 

LANGUAGE

Switzerland is a small country and is proud of its four official languages: German, French, Italian and Romansh. Swiss German is spoken in the German region, French is spoken in western Switzerland (Romandy) and Italian is spoken in southern Switzerland (Ticino and parts of Graubünden). Romansh is spoken by a minority in the canton of Graubünden.

The majority of the population (over 60%) speak Swiss German, but with different regional dialects. These dialects are vastly different from standard German (also called high German). Every dialect has its own unique expressions and style of pronunciation. High German is the written language in the German-speaking part of Switzerland and is taught in schools.

POSER SA CANDIDATURE DEPUIS L'ÉTRANGER

Bienvenue en Suisse! Vous trouvez ci-joint les informations les plus importantes pour vivre et travailler en Suisse. Nous nous réjouissons de votre candidature.

ENTRÉE

  • Les frontaliers des pays membres de l'UE et de l'AELE jouissent d'une mobilité professionnelle et géographique absolue dans toutes les zones frontalières de Suisse. Pour les citoyens de l'UE-27 (à l'exception de la Bulgarie, de la Roumanie et de la Croatie) et des pays membres de l'AELE, les zones frontalières ont été supprimées. Ils peuvent habiter et travailler dans n'importe quel pays de l'UE et de l'AELE ainsi qu’en Suisse, à condition de retourner une fois par semaine (généralement le week-end) à leur domicile à l'étranger. La demande d'autorisation frontalière doit être effectuée par l'employé.
  • Les ressortissants d'un pays de l'UE-27 ou de l'AELE (à l'exception de la Bulgarie, de la Roumanie et de la Croatie) souhaitant exercer une activité en Suisse peuvent entrer dans le pays. Ils doivent déposer dans un délai de deux semaines après leur entrée sur le territoire, une demande d'autorisation de séjour accompagnée de leur contrat de travail auprès du Contrôle des habitants compétent.
  • Les ressortissants de Bulgarie ou de Roumanie (Etats UE-2) peuvent entrer en Suisse sans visa. Le nombre d’autorisations de séjour B accordées aux ressortissants roumains et bulgares est limité. Elles sont mises à disposition tous les trimestres. Les autorisations de séjour de courte durée de catégorie L ne sont pas contingentées. (Dernière mise à jour: 2017)
  • Les ressortissants des pays hors de l'UE et de l'AELE doivent avoir un visa pour entrer en Suisse (à l'exception des ressortissants d'Andorre, de Brunei, du Japon, de Malaisie, de Nouvelle-Zélande, de Saint-Marin, de Singapour et de la Cité du Vatican pour qui une garantie d'autorisation de séjour suffit) si le but de leur séjour est d'exercer une activité rémunérée. Les autorités du marché du travail, les offices cantonaux des migrations et le Secrétariat d’État aux migrations vérifient la demande d’autorisation de séjour et de travail. Après acceptation, l'Office des migrations accorde et transmet une autorisation de visa à l'ambassade suisse ou au consulat général du pays correspondant. Cette représentation consulaire établit le visa, lequel doit être retiré sur place par la personne soumise à l'obligation de visa. Veuillez noter que l'entrée en Suisse requiert impérativement la réception préalable du visa ou de la garantie d'autorisation de séjour!
  • Vous trouverez des informations sur les dispositions douanières et les conditions d'entrée en Suisse sur ici

INSCRIPTION

  • Vous devez vous inscrire dans un délai de 14 jours après votre arrivée auprès de la commune de votre domicile ou du bureau régional de votre secteur d'habitation.
  • Les ressortissants d'un pays membre de l'UE ou de l'AELE doivent présenter les documents suivants à leur inscription: passeport ou carte d'identité et contrat de travail.
  • Les ressortissants d'un pays non-membre de l'UE ou de l'AELE doivent présenter les documents suivants à leur inscription: passeport ou carte d'identité, contrat de travail, autorisation de visa ou garantie d'autorisation de séjour et contrat de location.
  • Veuillez noter que l'inscription est payante.

 

PRÉVOYANCE

Le système de prévoyance vieillesse suisse repose sur le principe des trois piliers. La prévoyance étatique, constituée de l'assurance-vieillesse et survivants et de l'assurance invalidité (AVS/AI), représente le premier pilier du système de prévoyance. Conformément au mandat légal, ces deux assurances couvrent les besoins minimaux essentiels des assurés à la retraite ou en cas d'invalidité. En cas de décès, les assurances versent les prestations aux survivants. Les assurances AVS et AI sont obligatoires pour toutes les personnes résidant et/ou exerçant une activité rémunérée en Suisse.

La prévoyance professionnelle, qui constitue le deuxième pilier du système, a pour objectif de compléter les assurances AVS et AI pour maintenir le niveau de vie habituel des assurés. Toutes les personnes travaillant en Suisse et dont les revenus sont supérieurs à 14 100 CHF sont assurées. Les caisses de pension autonomes ou les fondations collectives gèrent pour chaque assuré un compte individuel sur lequel sont versées les contributions et qui sont administrés jusqu'à réalisation du risque.

Le groupe de cliniques privées Hirslanden est assuré contre les risques du premier pilier auprès de la «Caisse de compensation des cliniques privées». Les cotisations AVS/AI des employés sont prélevées directement chaque mois sur le salaire, puis versées à la caisse de compensation des cliniques privées avec les cotisations de l'employeur. Le taux de prime de 10,3% est supporté pour moitié par l'employé et pour moitié par l'employeur.

Les collaborateurs dont les revenus annuels sont supérieurs à 14 100 CHF sont assurés auprès de la Caisse de pension Hirslanden contre les risques du deuxième pilier. La prévoyance professionnelle est financée au moyen des contributions des assurés (c'est-à-dire des employés) et de l'employeur. Les contributions sont prélevées directement sur le salaire et transférées à la Caisse de pension.

 

ASSURANCES

  • L'assurance-chômage est une assurance étatique qui verse pendant un certain temps une indemnité de perte de gain appropriée à l'assuré en cas de chômage. En Suisse, toutes les personnes salariées bénéficient d'une assurance AC jusqu'à l'âge légal de la retraite. Le financement est assuré pour moitié par l'employé sous forme de déduction salariale et pour moitié par l'employeur.
  • L'assurance-accidents vise à compenser les conséquences économiques des accidents et des maladies professionnels et des accidents non professionnels. L'assurance-accidents est obligatoire pour les personnes exerçant une activité lucrative en Suisse. Elle doit être contractée par l'employeur, lequel supporte également les primes. Toutes les personnes exerçant une activité lucrative au moins 8 h par semaine sont également assurées par leur employeur contre les accidents non professionnels (survenant en dehors du temps de travail). L'employeur peut faire supporter partiellement la prime à l'employé. Les personnes non salariées doivent elles-mêmes contracter une assurance-accidents.
  • L'assurance-maladie est obligatoire. Elle prend en charge les frais médicaux et les soins en cas de maladie. Les personnes non actives peuvent également s'assurer contre les accidents auprès de leur assurance-maladie. En Suisse, le choix de l'assurance-maladie est libre. Cela signifie que l'assuré peut  choisir parmi plusieurs caisses maladie celle qui correspond à ses besoins.
  • L'assurance-indemnités journalières vise à compenser les conséquences économiques en cas de maladie. Elle n'est pas obligatoire.
  • L'allocation de maternité vise à couvrir partiellement le manque à gagner pendant le congé maternité. Elle est versée au maximum jusqu'à 98 jours après la naissance.

Les différentes solutions d'assurance de Hirslanden peuvent être résumées comme suit :

  • Assurance-chômage : Les collaborateurs du groupe de cliniques privées Hirslanden sont assurés auprès de la caisse de compensation des cliniques privées. La prime est déduite du salaire.
  • Assurance accidents : Le groupe de cliniques privées Hirslanden a assuré le risque d'accident des employés auprès de la Zurich Assurance. La prime est supportée à parts égales par l'employé et l'employeur et est déduite directement du salaire.
  • Assurance maladie : L'assurance maladie est à la charge de l'employé. Toutefois, il existe des conventions collectives dans lesquelles les salariés peuvent bénéficier de conditions particulières.
  • Assurance d'indemnités journalières de maladie : Le groupe de cliniques privées Hirslanden a conclu une assurance d'indemnités journalières de maladie pour ses employés. La prime est payée pour moitié par l'employé et pour moitié par l'employeur.
  • Assurance maternité : Le groupe de cliniques privées Hirslanden accorde à toutes les salariées un congé de maternité payé de 16 semaines au total. À partir de la deuxième année de service, la rémunération est de 100 % du salaire brut (jusqu'à la deuxième année de service, la rémunération est de 80 % du salaire brut).

Die einzelnen Versicherungslösungen der Hirslanden lassen sich wie folgt zusammenfassen:

  • Arbeitslosenversicherung: Mitarbeitende der Privatklinikgruppe Hirslanden sind bei der Ausgleichskasse Privatkliniken versichert. Der Abzug der Prämie erfolgt über den Lohn.
  • Unfallversicherung: Die Privatklinikgruppe Hirslanden hat das Unfallrisiko für die Mitarbeitenden bei der Zurich Versicherung versichert. Die Prämie wird je zu Hälfte durch den Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber getragen und wird direkt vom Lohn abgezogen.
  • Krankenversicherung: Die Krankenversicherung ist Sache des Arbeitnehmers. Es bestehen jedoch Kollektivverträge, bei denen Mitarbeitende von speziellen Konditionen profitieren können.
  • Krankentaggeldversicherung: Die Privatklinikgruppe Hirslanden hat für die Mitarbeitenden eine Krankentaggeldversicherung abgeschlossen. Die Prämie wird je zur Hälfte durch Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber getragen.
  • Mutterschaftsversicherung: Die Privatklinikgruppe Hirslanden gewährt allen Mitarbeiterinnen einen bezahlten Mutterschaftsurlaub von insgesamt 16 Wochen. Ab dem 2. Dienstjahr wird dieser mit 100% des Bruttolohns entschädigt (bis zum 2. Dienstjahr beträgt die Entschädigung 80% des Bruttolohns).

 

IMPÔTS

En Suisse, les impôts sont prélevés à trois niveaux. La Confédération perçoit des impôts sur le revenu, calculé en pourcentage du revenu – ce pourcentage est le même dans toute la Suisse. Les 26 cantons et près de 2 400 communes perçoivent également des impôts sur le revenu ainsi que sur la fortune dont le taux varie selon ces cantons et ces communes. De ce fait, le montant des impôts dépend également du lieu d'habitation du contribuable.

  • Pour les ressortissants suisses, l'imposition appliquée est la taxation ordinaire basée sur une auto-déclaration annuelle. Une fois par an, le contribuable doit effectuer une déclaration d'impôts. Les autorités fiscales lui envoient ensuite une facture fiscale dont il doit s'acquitter avant la fin de l'année.
  • Pour les ressortissants étrangers (sans autorisation C), l'imposition est appliquée à la source. Cela signifie que les impôts sont directement prélevés sur le salaire, à un rythme mensuel. L'employeur verse les impôt aux autorités fiscales compétentes en Suisse.

 

LOGEMENT

Certaines cliniques Hirslanden proposent à leurs collaborateurs des logements à prix réduits. Si vous êtes intéressé(e), veuillez prendre contact avec le service du personnel local.

 

LANGUES

La Suisse est un petit pays qui est fier de ses quatre langues nationales: l'allemand, le français, l'italien et le rhéto-roman. On parle suisse-allemand en Suisse alémanique, français en Suisse romande (Romandie) et italien en Suisse méridionale (Tessin et certaines régions du sud des Grisons). Le rhéto-roman est parlé par une minorité de la population dans la partie grisonne.

La majorité de la population (plus de 60%) parle suisse-allemand, mais avec plusieurs dialectes selon les régions. Les dialectes diffèrent très fortement de l'allemand standard. Chaque dialecte a ses propres expressions et sa propre prononciation. En Suisse alémanique, la langue écrite est l'allemand standard, qui est enseigné à l'école.